خرق البيانات: فيريزون قد لا نمضي قدما مع الصفقة المزمعة للاستحواذ على ياهو


وبعد سلسلة من خروقات البيانات المؤسفة التي حلت عملاق الانترنت ياهو في الأشهر الأخيرة, قد أفسد على الصفقة المزمعة لاكتساب فيريزون منذ يتسول الأخيرة لدراسة الآثار المترتبة على الأمن الخارقة أكثر قبل اتخاذ قرار بشأن ما إذا كانت ستمضي قدما في الاستحواذ أو الابتعاد بكل بساطة, يكتب [أوستودي].

قد فيريزون تعتزم شراء ياهو $4.8 مليار, ولكن مع موجة من خروقات البيانات ضرب العديد من المستخدمين في الشركة, نائب الرئيس التنفيذي ورئيس ابتكار المنتجات في فيريزون, مارني الدن, وكشف أن "ما زلنا لا نعرف" ما إذا كانت ستمضي قدما في عملية الشراء المخطط لها أو ليديروا ظهورهم على الصفقة المقترحة.

صفقة ياهو فيريزون



عانى ياهو خرق أمني في 2013 وبعضها البعض والتي تتعرض أكثر 500 مليون مستخدم في 2014. ثم في ديسمبر 2016, أكثر من مليار مستخدم ياهو حصلت على بياناتهم الشخصية انتهكت, مما دفع ياهو أن يوصي تغيير كلمة المرور بين غيرها من التدابير الوقائية للحد من فرص اختراق حسابات المستخدمين الشخصية.

ولكن هذه التطورات تلقي بظلال من الشك في أذهان كبار المسؤولين التنفيذيين فيريزون وجعلها إلى إعادة النظر في المضي قدما في الصفقة. المستشار العام فيريزون, كريغ سيليمان, وأعرب في وقت سابق عن مخاوفه مع سيطرة, الآن السيدة. تعليقات الدن تقرض الوزن إلى المضاربات الانسحاب من الصفقة.



لكن تعليق سابق والدن أن المقترح "من المنطقي" ساعدت أسهم ياهو في الارتفاع 3% للوصول $41.24, ولكن لا تصل إلى فيريزون التي ظلت ثابتة إلى حد ما في $54.63.

ولكن كل الأمل على شراء ياهو لا تضيع بسبب فيريزون يقول لديهم الكثير من الخيارات على أرض الواقع لاتفاق للمضي قدما. واحد من هؤلاء هو إعادة التفاوض لالأولي $4.8 مليار سعر أن ينخفض ​​إلى استيعاب مخاوف من الأعمال المتعلقة باكتساب, والثاني هو لياهو لإثبات الآثار الكاملة للخروقات البيانات على المستخدمين تعج بها.

"يجب أن يكون لدي بعض الحقائق من أجل أن تكون قادرة على اتخاذ قرار جيد,"والدن قال. وقال "هناك الكثير من الاشياء ونحن لا نعرف."

ووفقا لاحصائيات من ماركيتر, جعل ياهو الكسب $2.98 مليار دولار من الإعلانات عبر الإنترنت في 2016 في مقابل $63.1 مليار أدلى بها منافسة جوجل و $25.9 مليار تتحقق عن طريق الفيسبوك, بينما بابا قد تحشد $12.7 مليار خلال نفس الفترة.


اترك رد

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

Data Breach: Verizon May Not Go Ahead with Planned Deal to Acquire Yahoo


Following the series of unfortunate data breaches that have befallen internet giant Yahoo in recent months, a planned deal for acquisition by Verizon may be scuttled since the latter begs to study the impact of the security hacks more before deciding on whether to go ahead with the takeover or simply to walk away, USATODAY writes.

Verizon had planned to acquire Yahoo for $4.8 billion, but with the wave of data breaches hitting the company’s many users, executive vice president and president of product innovation at Verizon, Marni Walden, revealed that “we still don’t know” whether to go ahead with the planned purchase or to turn their backs on the proposed deal.

Yahoo Verizon Deal



Yahoo suffered a security breach in 2013 and another one which exposed over 500 million users in 2014. Then in December 2016, over one billion Yahoo users got their personal details breached, prompting Yahoo to recommend password-change among other preventive measures to reduce chances of hacking into personal users accounts.

But these developments are casting doubts in the minds of top Verizon executives and making them to reconsider moving ahead with the deal. Verizon’s general counsel, Craig Silliman, had earlier voiced his concerns with the takeover, now Ms. Walden’s comments are lending weight to speculations of withdrawal from the deal.



But an earlier comment by Walden that the proposed “made sense” helped Yahoo’s shares to rise 3% to reach $41.24, but not up to Verizon’s which remained fairly constant at $54.63.

But all hope on purchasing Yahoo is not lost because Verizon says they have a lot of options on ground for the deal to proceed. One of these is to renegotiate for the initial $4.8 billion price to be reduced to accommodate business fears concerning the acquisition, and the second is for Yahoo to demonstrate the full impacts of the data breaches on its teeming users.

“I have to have certain facts in order to be able to make a good decision,” Walden had said. “There’s a lot of stuff we don’t know.”

According to stats from eMarketer, Yahoo made a earning of $2.98 billion from online ads in 2016 as against the $63.1 billion made by rival Google and the $25.9 billion realized by Facebook, while Alibaba had corralled $12.7 billion within the same period.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *