集團狀告可口可樂對含糖飲料的危害誤導消費者


總部位於華盛頓的宣傳組, 科學中心公共利益, 已經起訴可口可樂公司和美國飲料協會 (ABA) 誤導廣大市民到消費含糖飲料時,他們很清楚對人體的破壞性影響, AJC報告.

宣傳組都指責可口可樂和ABA贊助促進糖的攝入量的好處假科學研究, 同時還開展了一些營銷活動,表明消費者的指責時,他們採取含糖飲料沒有進行定期演習,可以抵消對身體及其影響.

可口可樂起訴



據奧克蘭的聯邦地區法院提起週三訴訟, 加利福尼亞州, 可口可樂和ABA縱容幾十年來“搞欺騙的方式誤導,混淆視聽有關的科學共識的市民,含糖飲料的消費量與肥胖, 類型 2 糖尿病和心血管疾病。“

指控還說,可口可樂公司贊助的一些誤導性的廣告,表明消費者被指責為肥胖相關的慢性病的上升,由於缺乏鍛煉等身體活動, “儘管他們知道這個解釋是不是科學合理的事實。”



但可口可樂的發言人, 肯特蘭德斯, 掃地的指責是平庸和毫無根據. “我們把我們的消費者和他們的健康非常重視,並已在旅途變得更加可信和有益的合作夥伴,幫助消費者管理他們的食糖消費量,“ 他說.

這已經不是第一次可口可樂正面臨著集體訴訟在它的含糖飲料及其對消費者的健康影響. 這些訴訟多年來迫使飲料公司採用,其中包括在披露產品標籤糖和卡路里量積極措施, 減少或在某些飲料中除去糖的量, 和消除索賠,該公司的飲料促進身體健康.

公共利益科學中心的實踐項目帶到一起行動, 一個非營利性組織. 就在去年, 宣傳組也提出了對可口可樂的競爭對手百事可樂的訴訟超過其裸果汁飲料誤導性的營銷活動.


發表評論

您的電子郵件地址不會被公開. 必需的地方已做標記 *

Group Sues Coca-Cola for Misleading Consumers on Dangers of Sugary Drinks


Washington-based advocacy group, the Center for Science in the Public Interest, has sued Coca-Cola company and the American Beverage Association (ABA) for misleading the general public into consuming sugary drinks when they are well aware of its damaging effects on the body, AJC reports.

The advocacy group accuses both Coca-Cola and ABA for sponsoring fake scientific researches that promote the benefits of sugar intake, while also carrying out a number of marketing campaigns that suggest that consumers are to blame when they take sugary beverages without undertaking regular exercises that could offset their effects on the body.

Coca-Cola Sued



According to the lawsuit filed on Wednesday at the federal district court in Oakland, California, Coca-Cola and ABA have connived for decades to “engage in a pattern of deception to mislead and confuse the public about the scientific consensus that consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages is linked to obesity, type 2 diabetes and cardiovascular diseases.”

The allegation added that Coca-Cola sponsored several misleading adverts to indicate that consumers are to be blamed for the rise in obesity-related chronic conditions due to lack of exercises and other physical activity, “despite the fact that they knew this explanation was not scientifically sound.”



But a spokesman for Coca-Cola, Kent Landers, discredited the accusations as banal and baseless. “We take our consumers and their health very seriously and have been on a journey to become a more credible and helpful partner in helping consumers manage their sugar consumption,” he said.

This is not the first time Coke is facing class action over its sugary drinks and its effect on consumers’ health. These litigations over the years forced the beverage company to adopt proactive measures which included disclosing the amount of sugar and calories in product labels, reducing or removing the amount of sugar in certain drinks, and removing claims that the company’s drinks promoted good health.

The Center for Science in the Public Interest brought the action together with the Praxis Project, a nonprofit group. Just last year, the advocacy group also filed a lawsuit against Coca-Cola’s rival Pepsico for misleading marketing campaigns over its Naked Juice drinks.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *